Personal tools

You are here: Home / Online Resources / Subject Guides / Genealogy

Genealogy

The study of family ancestries and histories
National Archives: Genealogists/Family Historians
A great starting place for genealogical research, how-to tips for beginners and experts, links to primary sources world-wide, and databases of family trees.
National Archives: State Archives
Genealogists may need to get information from state archives and historical societies. Here is contact information as of January, 2006
Cyndi’s List
A categorized and cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet, 261,000+ links for family history! (as of 9/1/06)
Repository of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
Iowa Genealogical Society
IGS is a non-profit organization whose mission is to create and foster an interest in genealogy and to aid others in researching their family history. IGS was founded in 1965 by a small group of dedicated genealogists who met in members' houses and carried the original collection in an orange crate. Today our 3,000+ members are worldwide and the book collection alone spans the length of over five football fields.
State Historical Society of Iowa
A main repository of Iowa historical and genealogical information.
Society of American Archivists
Organizations, associations and groups related to or of interest to the archival profession.
« January 2019 »
January
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031
Upcoming Events
Lego Challenge Jan 17, 2019 06:30 PM - 07:30 PM — Harlan Community Library
My Very Silly Monster Kid's Program with Tim Read Jan 19, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM — Harlan Community Library
Free Kids' Movie: Incredibles 2 Jan 21, 2019 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM — Harlan Community Library
Book Worms Jan 22, 2019 04:00 PM - 05:00 PM — Harlan Community Library - Children's Area
Story Time Jan 23, 2019 10:30 AM - 11:15 AM — Harlan Community Library - Children's Area
Tech Time: Email Basics Jan 23, 2019 03:00 PM - 04:00 PM — Harlan Community Library
Libraries on the Go Jan 23, 2019 04:00 PM - 05:00 PM — Harlan Community Library
Tech Time: Scheduled Individual Assistance Jan 26, 2019 09:00 AM - 12:00 PM — Harlan Community Library
OWLS - Older Wiser Learning Seniors Jan 28, 2019 12:00 PM - 01:00 PM — Harlan Senior Center
Book Worms Jan 29, 2019 04:00 PM - 05:00 PM — Harlan Community Library - Children's Area
Previous events…
Upcoming events…
This resource is supported by the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act as administered by State Library of Iowa.