Personal tools

You are here: Home / Online Resources / Subject Guides / Home and Garden

Home and Garden

Links to useful information on the Internet
Decorating Arrangements
Dozens of articles about interior decoration. The "Design Styles" section features information about styles such as Art Deco, Asian, French country, rustic, shabby chic, and Shaker. Includes home tours, and design ideas for specific rooms and for items, such as baskets, candles, lamps, and window treatments. From Home and Garden Television.
Do It Yourself Home Repair, Improvement and Remodeling
The site contains a large collection of tips, tricks, and tutorials covering a variety of subjects, from appliance care to pet care to woodworking. You can scan a list of subjects or search with keywords. There is also a free monthly newsletter.
Epicurious
Everything for food lovers - cooking videos, recipes, articles, cookbook reviews, and information on wine and restaurants.
The Garden Web
Here's the place to order all those gardening catalogs you love to read! In addition, you'll find lots of useful gardening information, including an extensive list of public gardens in the U.S. by state and type.
Home and Family
Home and family topics include aging, children, clothing, family relationships, housing, parenting, finances, food, nutrition and health.
Psychology Today: Parenting Center
Collection of articles about the psychology of parenting. Subjects include adoption, division of labor, fatherhood, grandparenting, child development, communication, child abuse, child neglect, sex education, technology, discipline, and more. From Psychology Today magazine.
RecipeSource (formerly SOAR)
The Searchable Online Archive of Recipes currently indexes around 70,000 recipes, including those for restricted diets, kids, special occasions - even treats for your pet. Particularly useful for browsing ethnic recipes.
USDA Hardiness Zone Map
Will your plant survive in Iowa’s climate? Check the online version of the government publication showing the growing conditions in areas across the USA.
Wine Lover’s Page
Learn all about wine with links that include a pronouncing glossary, vineyard weather, food-wine matches, and tasting notes on over 50,000 wines.
Yard and Garden
Provides how-to tips and gardening basics. Topics include flowers, fruits, houseplant, lawns, trees and shrubs, vegetables and herbs, weeds and pests.
« January 2019 »
January
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031
Upcoming Events
Lego Challenge Jan 17, 2019 06:30 PM - 07:30 PM — Harlan Community Library
My Very Silly Monster Kid's Program with Tim Read Jan 19, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM — Harlan Community Library
Free Kids' Movie: Incredibles 2 Jan 21, 2019 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM — Harlan Community Library
Book Worms Jan 22, 2019 04:00 PM - 05:00 PM — Harlan Community Library - Children's Area
Story Time Jan 23, 2019 10:30 AM - 11:15 AM — Harlan Community Library - Children's Area
Tech Time: Email Basics Jan 23, 2019 03:00 PM - 04:00 PM — Harlan Community Library
Libraries on the Go Jan 23, 2019 04:00 PM - 05:00 PM — Harlan Community Library
Tech Time: Scheduled Individual Assistance Jan 26, 2019 09:00 AM - 12:00 PM — Harlan Community Library
OWLS - Older Wiser Learning Seniors Jan 28, 2019 12:00 PM - 01:00 PM — Harlan Senior Center
Book Worms Jan 29, 2019 04:00 PM - 05:00 PM — Harlan Community Library - Children's Area
Previous events…
Upcoming events…
This resource is supported by the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act as administered by State Library of Iowa.