Harlan Community Library Board of Trustees--June 8, 2020

The Harlan Community Library Board of Trustees met on Monday June 8, 2020, at 5:16 p.m. in the Library meeting room.

Present: Pam Meuer, Deb Miller, Susan Finn, Bill Early, and Tanya Bruck

Absent: JoAnn Miller, Roger Ewert, and Dick Jones

Also Present: Director Amanda Brewer,

President Pam Meuer called the meeting to order. Bill moved, seconded by Deb to approve the agenda as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

Conflicts of interest are to be stated if and when applicable. None were stated.

Deb moved, seconded by Bill, to approve the minutes from March 9th. The motion carried unanimously.

Director's report:

- The library has continued to have a digital presence during the closure. The was a good outcome for the summer reading program. The turnout for adults was higher than expected.
- The money (income) and the patron statistics is down compared to other years which is related to the closure.
- The library will begin Phase 2 of the reopening plan. The limit for patrons in the library will start at 10 and be adjusted as necessary. Plexi-Glass has been installed at all the library counters to protect staff.
- 92% of the year has passed, and 87% of the budget has been spent.

Motion by Susan, seconded by Bill to approve the bills the director has paid. Motion carried unanimously.

No committees met.

Old Business:

Motion by Bill, seconded by Susan to transfer computer services to PLS and follow up with Todd Argotzinger, the city attorney to terminate firewall services. The motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Bill, seconded by Susan to hire Mikayla Evers as a part-time seasonal circulation clerk. The motion carried unanimously. This position is for 200 hours at \$10/hour.

Motion by Deb, seconded by Bill to approve the addition of Dan McElwain and Paul Simpson to the Library Board of Trustees. The motion carried unanimously.

New Business:

Motion by Deb, seconded by Bill to adopt Policy for Facebook HCL Book Blab Review. The motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Bill, seconded by Pam to move that nominations close and the slate of officers is approved:

President- Susan Finn

Vice President- Bill Early

Secretary- Tanya Bruck

The motion carried unanimously.

Our next meeting will be July 13, 2020 at 5:15 p.m.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:47 p.m.

Tanya Bruck, Secretary

These minutes are as recorded by the Secretary and are subject to Board approval at the next regular meeting.