The Harlan Community Library Board of Trustees met on Monday, June 10, 2024, at 5:20 p.m. in the Library meeting room.

Present: Roy Burkhalter, Bill Early, Susan Finn, Paul Simpson, and Tanya Bruck Absent: Hope Chipman, Andrew Sandquist, Dan McElwain, and Connie Claussen Also Present: Director Amanda Brewer, City Council liaison Sharon Kroger

Vice President Bill Early called the meeting to order. Susan moved, Tanya seconded to call the meeting to order. The motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Paul, seconded by Susan to approve the agenda as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

Conflicts of interest are to be stated if and when applicable. None were stated.

Roy moved, seconded by Susan, to approve the May 13, 2024 minutes. The motion carried unanimously.

Director's report:

- June youth programming includes Eco Defenders and Dino O'Dell outdoor programs, Lego Challenge, Science Center of Iowa Boom program, chillin at the library, and Stem week with the PBS STEAM Trailer
- Juen Adult programming includes magazine cut out art, Bingo at the Lounge, classic movie, compost training, and four book clubs.
- 337 people attended the Summer Kickoff Event
- The library is being rearranged to continue to meet the needs of patrons.
- The Harlan Community Library Foundation will match funds up to \$100,000, and the city will cover costs on the sidewalk on the perimeter of the library.
- 92% of the year has passed, and 88% of our budget has been spent.

Motion by Bill, seconded by Roy to approve the proposed 2024-2025 budget. Motion carried unanimously.

The Facilities Committee submitted a rendering of the outdoor project.

Old Business:

Motion by Bill, seconded by Tanya to approve the bills the director has paid. Motion carried unanimously.

New Business:

Motion by Bill, seconded by Susan to accept the resignation of Dan McElwain and renew the position of Paul Simpson on the Library Board. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Paul, seconded by Roy to approve the following slate of officers: Andrew Sandquist as President, Bill Early as Vice President, and Hope Chipman as Secretary. Motion carried unanimously.

Our next meeting will be July 8, 2024 at 5:15 p.m.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:38 p.m.

Tanya Bruck for Hope Chipman, Secretary

These minutes are as recorded by the Secretary and are subject to Board approval at the next regular meeting.